University of Education Karlsruhe

The University of Education Karlsruhe is one of six Universities of Education in the state of Baden-Wuerttemberg. The University of Education is a university with a particular setup, which can only be found in Baden-Württemberg: on top of offering teacher training degrees the Universitu of Educationt has a university profile including the right to offer postgraduate studies. Students who want to become teachers for primary school and different types of secondary school profit from the integration of educational sciences, specialist sciences, didactics as well as school practice during their studies. One of the special profiles of Karlsruhe University is the European Teacher Course that has been running successfully since 1999.

 

Our History

In 1757 the first training and examination regulations for trainee teachers in Karlsruhe were established. In 1768 a school seminar was founded on “Kaiserstraße”. In 1807 the building was torn down and in 1823 re-established at “Markgrafenstraße 48”, near the “Rondellplatz” under direction of Wilhelm Heinrich Katz (1763-1851) and under the educational leadership of the Pestalozzi-student Wilhelm Stern (1792-1873). The visit of the teaching seminar subsequently became compulsory for all Protestant teaching candidates. After many moves “Bismarckstraße 10”, today´s location of the University of Education, became the home of the institution in 1870. Between 1931 and 1934 the institute was closed due to missing career prospects for teachers. The building at “Bismarckstraße” was destroyed in 1944 and rebuilt in 1957. In 1958 the development into a university was initiated: on May 29 in 1962 the certificate about the foundation of the University of Education Karlsruhe was granted and authorised by the state government in 1965. In 1971 the University of Education received status of an independent scientific institution. The limited right to graduate PhD students became an unlimited right through an amendment in 1987. In 2005 the unlimited right for habilitation followed.

Read more about the history

 

Internationalisation

In 2012 the senate of the University of Education Karlsruhe issued an internationalisation strategy. This strategy aims at a qualitative development of the university.

Read more about internationalisation

CUSHA at the University of Education Karlsruhe

The Erasmus+ project is coordinated by the University of Education Karlsruhe. The project leader Dr. Annette Deschner controls the project management and works content-related in the project within the area of culture and multilingual didactics.

Dr. Annette Deschner works at the Institute for Transdisciplinary Social Sciences. Her areas of research are CLIL (Content and Language Integrated Learning), multilingual didactics and cultural studies.

 


News

The lecture "CultureShake: Digital Learning in Multilingual Education" will be presented at the OEB conference (27 to 29 November 2019) in Berlin, Germany.

CultureShake will be presented at the conference "Europeana 2019 - Connect Communities" (27 to 29 November 2019) in Lisbon, Portugal.

Site Overview

Pädagogische Hochschule Karlsruhe

Die Pädagogische Hochschule Karlsruhe ist einer der sechs Pädagogischen Hochschulen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Die Pädagogische Hochschule ist eine Hochschule besonderer Prägung, welche es in dieser Form nur in Baden-Württemberg gibt: es sind Hochschulen universitären Profils mit Promotions- und Habilitationsrecht. Studierende des Lehramts an Grund-, Werkreal-, Haupt- und Realschulen erfahren an der Pädagogischen Hochschule im Studium eine Integration von Erziehungswissenschaften, Fachwissenschaften, fachdidaktische Aufbereitung der wissenschaftlichen Inhalte sowie Schulpraxis. Ein besonderes Profil ist das seit 1999 bestehende Europalehramt.

 

Unsere Geschichte

Im Jahre 1757 wurde die erste Ausbildungs- und Prüfungsordnung für Schulkandidaten (angehende Lehrer) in Karlsruhe eingerichtet. 1768 wurde das Schulseminar an der heutigen Kaiserstraße zwischen Marktplatz und der kleinen Kirche am Markt gegründet. 1807 wird das Gebäude abgerissen und 1823 in der Markgrafenstraße 48, unweit des Rondellplatzes, unter der Direktion von Wilhelm Heinrich Katz (1763-1851) und der pädagogischen Leitung des Pestalozzi-Schülers Wilhelm Stern (1792-1873) wiedereingerichtet. Der Besuch des Karlsruher Lehrerseminars wird 1829 durch ein Staatsministerialreskript für alle evangelischen Lehramtskandidaten verpflichtend. Nach weiteren Umzügen wird 1870 der heutige Standort in der Bismarckstraße 10 bezogen. Zwischen 1931-1934 hatte der Rückgang zu einer zeitweiligen Schließung infolge fehlender Berufsaussichten einen Schatten über die Lehrerausbildung in Karlsruhe gelegt.  Das 1944 zerstörte Gebäude in der Bismarckstraße konnte 1957 wiederbezogen werden, nachdem 1952 die Lehrerbildungsanstalt zum Pädagogischen Institut geworden war. Daraufhin folgte 1958 die Umwandlung des Instituts in eine Hochschule durch das Gesetz über die Ausbildung der Volksschullehrer, wodurch die Entwicklung zur Universität eingeleitet wurde: weitere Schritte waren 29.05.1962 die Urkunde über die Gründung der Pädagogischen Hochschule Karlsruhe und 1965 die Genehmigung der Hochschulsatzung durch die Landesregierung. Mit dem Gesetz über die Rechtsstellung der Pädagogischen Hochschulen im Jahr 1971 erhielten die Pädagogischen Hochschulen den Status eigenständiger wissenschaftlicher Einrichtungen. Das eingeschränkte Promotionsrecht von 1977 wurde durch eine Novellierung des Pädagogischen Hochschulgesetzes 1987 zu einem unbeschränkten Promotionsrecht. 2005 folgte das uneingeschränkte Habilitationsrecht.

Mehr über die Geschichte

 

Internationalisierung

2012 wurde vom Senat der Pädagogischen Hochschule Karlsruhe eine Internationalisierungsstrategie beschlossen. Die Strategie zielt auf eine qualitative Entwicklung der Hochschule ab.

Mehr über die Internationalisierung

CUSHA an der Pädagogischen Hochschule Karlsruhe

Das Erasmus+ Projekt wird von der Pädagogischen Hochschule Karlsruhe koordiniert. Die Projektleiterin Dr. Annette Deschner steuert das Projektmanagement und arbeitet inhaltlich in dem Projekt im Bereich der Kultur- und Mehrsprachigkeitsdidaktik.

Dr. Annette Deschner ist am Institut für Transdisziplinäre Sozialwissenschaften tätig. Die Forschungsbereiche sind CLIL (Content and Language Integrated Learning), Mehrsprachigkeitsdidaktik und Kulturwissenschaften.

 


Neuigkeiten

  • Vortrag "Revitalization of Italian language" bei der Clarc conference in Rijeka, Kroatien, vom 8.-10.Juni 2018.
  • Poster "CultureShake: A Multilingual and Transcultural Research and Learning Project" von Dr. Annette Deschner auf der Edulearn18 Konferenz in Palma de Mallorca, Spanien.
  • Das ESG wird 60 Jahre alt. Es wurde 1958 gegründet und hatte damals 5 englische und 2 argentinische SchülerInnen - heute sind es mehr als 500 mit mehr als 40 Nationalitäten. Die Geburtstagsfeier findet im Herbst statt.