Singen, 08/05 – 12/05/2017

The first CultureShake learning activity took place at the Friedrich-Wöhler Gymnasium at Singen from 08/05/2017 to 12/05/2017.

Aim

The aim of this learning activity is to collectively process, apply and assess the products created thus far as part of the project. The products in question are relevant to two of Shakespeare’s works; A Midsummer Night’s Dream and The Tempest. This learning activity focuses on Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream.

Project objectives within the learning activity

  • promoting language competence
  • promoting multilingualism
  • developing the European dimension in education through focusing on multilingualism
  • granting access for intercultural concepts on transcultural learning
  • supporting mobility for teachers and learners

Content concept

Learners who have a background as refugees take part in this project and should not be made the exception or be a specialty, even if for e.g. their asylum-seeking contract forbids them to travel. Seeing as our concept is not set on cultural diversity and does not seek to generate intercultural exercises. Moreover, it works on the foundation of cultural and lingual hybridisation, consequently strengthening transcultural practises. For that reason the products of this project only highlight differences where necessary. When it is possible these points will also refer to the individual culture of the people.

Preparations: The activities of this week were already planned ahead along with the project partners in coherence with contract initiation. Since the official start of the project on 01/09/2016 the conceptualisation was further specified, assessed and enhanced.

Participants

Pupils of the Stifelsen English School of Gothenburg (ESG) in Sweden and the Friedrich-Wöhler Gymnasium (FWG). The pupils of ESG were lead by their teachers Chloe Bye, Clare Skoglund. Organisation of FWG was managed by Yannick Kuch, Dr. Simone Paulun, Anna Räuber and Hildi Rieger. The learning activities were academically supported by Dr. Annette Deschner (University of Education, Karlsruhe), Dr. Mojca Kompara (Primorska University Koper in Slovenia) and Lisa Peter (tutor at the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust Stratford, UK).

 

The following activities took place during the week.

Monday, 8 May 2017

The learners already knew each other through activities on eTwinning and had exchanged mails and messages. In the project they should work together in transnational school teams. The teams explored the school building at the beginning of their stay. The principle of the school, Sabine Beck, welcomed the guests from Europe in the staffroom, where the teaching body and guests engaged in conversation.

 

The first workshop followed the topic of language biography (see products: Intellectual Output 4). At the beginning of the project the learners created a language matrix to be used here. In this matrix the learners gave specifics on their mother tongue and acquired foreign languages. The language biography, as a meditative exercise for enhancing language awareness, brought out languages that couldn’t be detected in the matrix before because the learners had not listed them. Hazaragi, a dialect from Persia, appeared as a mother tongue in the drawing of a pupil’s heart. The pupil had not listed her mother tongue before as it is not an official language. The learners from Afghanistan and Syria with a background as refugees approached the task with hesitation. In the aftermath of the exercise it became apparent that these learners were not used to talking about their native languages.

Afterwards the learners with a background as refugees vocalised a very positive attitude towards the exercise, because they were able to view “themselves” as normal in this context. They did not view the exercise as one made specifically for refugees, and themselves having a special position in it, but rather as one organic part of the community of the project (learning community). This is also the fundamental goal of CultureShake: to convey the normality in cultural hybridisation and to create materials and visions for a coexistence that reaches beyond CultureShake into everyday school life. Showing that a fusion of languages and cultures can be normal. As an example; Persian, on the one hand, is the mother tongue of a child refugee, and on the other hand it is the mother tongue of a completely “normal” pupil of the ESG in Sweden. The language biographies uncovered many different varieties in languages that belonged to the pupils of the FWG. For the refugee children it brought them closer to normality whereas the local children gained more internationality. The FWG librarian, Mrs. Barnhardt, helped in the successful execution of this exercise as she took care of the posters for the language biographies and welcomed us in the rooms of the library – creating a warm and welcoming workspace with a fantastic view of the Hohentwiel.

Following this first cumulative working experience in a workshop atmosphere, a scientific introduction on Shakespeare was given. As the learners were already contextually prepared, they could take part in the interactive presentation by commenting and asking questions. The presentation had the goal of giving an introduction to the life and work of Shakespeare and bridge the gap to the peer teaching and video workshops that would follow. A central aspect was the deconstruction of the widely spread view of Shakespeare as an exclusively high culture field and therefore belonging to a more elitist cultural transmission.

In the presentation, steps were taken to create a new view of Shakespeare with the learners. The theatre life during Shakespeare’s time was introduced through the geographical layout of the city of London. The Puritans had banned theatres – with the Globe among them – to the outer districts. Shakespeare had to make a living off of his work among pubs and brothels. With the reconstruction of the concept of Shakespeare, from an elite and untouchable idol to a working author facing the struggles of everyday life, the transnational learner teams were prepared for upcoming tasks during the week. An elaboration on the different translations of Shakespeare’s works (for e.g. Klingon) formed a link to the language biographies of the previous workshop.

By looking at the covers of various different translations, the learners had to guess which language and play was represented. This proved to be a fairly easy task for the linguistically diverse pupils. In the course of this task an amusing incident occurred; upon asking the learners which play and language the Persian title represented, they promptly answer “Arab”. When the teacher asked them why they thought they simply replied, “because it says so”.

 

During lunch breaks we enjoyed the kitchen and fresh salad bar of the school’s cafeteria under the generous management of the family Ulbrich and the attendants Mrs Münzer and Mrs König. Due to the pleasant atmosphere, our lunch breaks quickly became an excellent opportunity for communication with the members of the teaching body. Our exchange with the world class teacher Mrs Brandi-Dohrn and the vice-principle Mr Spitzhüttl provided valuable insight for the project.

The pupils spent their afternoon of this first day at their host families. Here they were able to get to know their team partners and their surroundings better so as to acclimatise to Singen after the tiring trip. The project team held an additional transnational project meeting (M1a) on this afternoon.

 

Tuesday, 9 May 2017

How can visitors, beyond the regular city tour, experience the lively city of Singen? By using the Geocache “Fairies Singen” (compare Products IO 4) the learners could explore the sights of Singen, which was important to the pupils of the FWG. These places were collected beforehand and conceptualised in form of a Geocache, with which both host and visitors could get to know Singen. For the “treasure” Titania’s fairies Peaseblossom, Cobweb, Moth, Mustardseed and Puck found the elven song from Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream. This Geocache can be used in the future for other exchange groups from Australia, France and Italy.

Up until now the project partners created workshops and activities for the learners, for the rest of this day the transnational learner teams were able to take over. Together they should come up with and work on questions for peer teaching materials. This workshop was introduced as a way to reiterate the concept of inclusion and multilingualism as a means to literacy in terms of the priorities of the project. This acts as the foundation for peer teaching material (more under Intellectual Output 3).

The day that begun with “Fairies Singen” ended in the evening at an orchestral rehearsal of the Rielasingen e.V. with Mendelssohn-Bartholdy’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Pupils of CultureShake, who are members of the orchestra, had invited our group to the rehearsal.

 

Wednesday, 10 May 2017

We were received by mayor Seyfried in the hall of Singen’s city council. She welcomed the European project CultureShake in the four-land-region in front of the mural “Krieg und Frieden”, which was made by Otto Dix for the city council in Singen in 1960. A representative of the local regional newspaper “Südkurier” was also present.

After having recognised and experienced varieties of languages and inner multilingualism within the transnational teams, a “local culture” exercise was started. Inspired by Mark Wagler’s idea of thinking outside of culture containers (Terry Eagleton), the thematic orientation of the gathering was not to think of a “Swedish” or “German” culture and language, but rather to work on a subject in language diversity. In the local culture exercise the learners were not familiarised with national symbols like flags, monuments or public holidays, moreover the exercise concerns the individual culture of a person and their environment. For that reason, the learners came up with and drew symbols for their own culture. This revealed that symbols from for e.g. sports, music and family could transcend boundaries as they are found in Germany, Sweden, Afghanistan or Syria (more under Intellectual Output 4).

The subsequent workshop “CUSHA Online Dictionary” targeted digital and linguistic competences. Using and working with a dictionary makes sense through the combined supplemental activities on multilingualism, transcultural dynamics and Shakespeare. It is not about learning to use a dictionary to look up terms, but about creating an individual dictionary on the subject of the project. With the online platform Termania the transnational teams were able to make their own Shakespeare dictionary. The first collective workshop focussed on entries from A Midsummer Night’s Dream.  During the course of the project the dictionary will be expanded with entries from Shakespeare’s The Tempest. Pictograms and audio files will also be added, because not all child refugees had the opportunity to go to school. This goes to show that pupils can still learn together in an inclusive concept. This way, other speakers can create the entries and the content can be understood without needing alphabetic skills and so linguistic competence can be fostered. The teams worked with a shortened version of the original. Shakespearean English was new to all the learners and had to be developed together. For the online dictionary the learners chose their own words that they wanted to enter. Then they found speakers of the other languages, as the word should be translated for all the other project participants. This opened the language bazaar; “I need someone with Swedish. Where is a person who speaks Persian? Who can help me with…?” This exercise supports the concept build up (cf. Cummins and Butzkamm) on a cognitive level by reflecting the foreign concepts with concepts of the mother tongue (more under Intellectual Output 2).

This evening’s movie night was organised by a group of pupils. The selected film was Michael Hoffman’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Pupils of the FWG introduced the feature and the evening came to a close after conversations on the film.

 

Thursday, 11 May 2017

The entire day was assigned to videos and acting. After a warm-up activity outside, scenes were prepared for video recording in the afternoon (more under Intellectual Output3). The experts supported the transnational learner teams in their preparations with single or group discussions.

In the afternoon the teams searched for a suitable filming location in the vicinity of the FWG. The island of Wehrd, the Münchried – forest and the view of the Hohentwiel were chosen for their diverse possibilities. To the group, the different teams reported on their video recordings and exchanged their findings. The videos were edited afterwards by pupils of the ESG (more under Intellectual Output 3).

The evening was left to the host families to conduct individual arrangements.

 

Friday, 12 July 2017

For those in the know, the Mainau is not only a flower paradise but also seen as “Shakespeare – Island”. There are annual performances by the American Drama Group Europe. At the reception of Lady Bernadotte, Sweden was present at the Bodensee through its connection with the royal family, and a little Swedish was spoken.

After exploring the island we took the ferry over to Constance. The Alp-panorama of the Bodensee followed us.

Not only during the “walk around town” in Constance did we put the CultureShake bags to good use.

After exploring the island we took the ferry over to Constance. The Alp-panorama of the Bodensee followed us. Not only during the “walk around town” in Constance did we put the CultureShake bags to good use. We celebrated the concluding of an intense week in a guesthouse at the Bodensee. The scenery darkened as a summer storm broke out over the lake. One pupil made a very fitting remark, “this is the perfect scenario for Shakespeare’s The Tempest”.   – an appropriate transition for our next journey, which takes us to Stratford …


News

The lecture "CultureShake: Digital Learning in Multilingual Education" will be presented at the OEB conference (27 to 29 November 2019) in Berlin, Germany.

CultureShake will be presented at the conference "Europeana 2019 - Connect Communities" (27 to 29 November 2019) in Lisbon, Portugal.

Site Overview

Singen, 08.-12.05.2017

Am Friedrich-Wöhler Gymnasium in Singen fand vom 08.05.2017 bis 12.05.2017 die erste CultureShake Lernaktivität statt.

Zielsetzung

Das Ziel dieser Lernaktivität ist die gemeinsame Erarbeitung, Anwendung und Überprüfung der Produkte, die im Rahmen des Projekts bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt erstellt worden waren. Die Produkte des Projekts beziehen sich dabei auf zwei Werke Shakespeares: den Sommernachtstraum und den Sturm, wobei sich die Lernaktivität C1 auf Shakespeares Sommernachtstraum fokussiert.

Projektziele im Rahmen der Lernaktivität

  • Förderung sprachlicher Kompetenzen
  • Förderung von Mehrsprachigkeit
  • Entwicklung der europäischen Dimension in der Bildung insbesondere durch den Fokus auf Mehrsprachigkeit
  • Öffnung interkultureller Ansätze für transkulturelles Lernen
  • Unterstützung der Mobilität von Lehrkräften und Schülerinnen und Schüler

Inhaltlicher Ansatz

Schülerinnen und Schüler mit Fluchthintergrund nehmen an dem Projekt teil und sollen in dem Projekt keine Besonderheit bilden, auch wenn diese z.B. wegen laufender Asylverfahren nicht reisen können. Da unser Ansatz nicht in der kulturellen Diversität verortet ist und interkulturelle Übungen generieren möchte, sondern auf der Grundlage kultureller und sprachlicher Hybridisierung arbeitet und transkulturelle Praktiken stärken möchte, wird in den Produkten des Projekts, nur wo notwendig, auf Unterschiede eingegangen. So weit als möglich wird auch an diesen Punkten von der individuellen Kultur der Personen ausgegangen.

Vorbereitung: Die Aktivitäten dieser Woche waren bereits zwei Jahre im Voraus im Zuge der Antragsstellung von den Projektpartnern zusammen geplant. Seit Projektstart am 01.09.2016 wurde die Konzeption mit den Teilnehmern zusammen konkretisiert, geprüft und weiter ausgearbeitet.

Teilnehmende

Schülerinnen und Schüler der Stifelsen English School of Gothenburg (ESG) in Schweden und des Friedrich-Wöhler Gymnasiums (FWG). Begleitet wurde die ESG Gruppe von den Lehrerinnen Chloe Bye, Emma Eklund und Clare Skoglund. Die Organisation am FWG übernahmen Yannick Kuch, Dr. Simone Paulun, Anna Räuber und Hildi Rieger. Wissenschaftlich betreut wurde die Lernaktivität von Dr. Annette Deschner (Pädagogische Hochschule Karlsruhe), Dr. Mojca Kompara (Primorska Universität Koper in Slowenien) und Lisa Peter (Dozentin am Shakespeare Birthplace Trust Stratford, UK).

 

In der Woche fanden u.a. folgende Aktivitäten statt

Montag, der 08.05.2017

Die Schülerinnen und Schüler kannten sich schon über Aktivitäten auf eTwinning und hatten auch schon zuvor Mails miteinander ausgetauscht. In dem Projekt soll in transnationalen Schulteams zusammengearbeitet werden. In diesen Teams wurde zu Beginn des Aufenthalts das Schulgebäude erkundet. Die Schulleiterin Sabine Beck begrüßte die Gäste aus Europa im Lehrerzimmer, woraufhin sich Gespräche zwischen dem Lehrerkollegium und den Gästen anschlossen.

Der erste Workshop hatte die Sprachenbiographie zum Thema (mehr vgl. Produkte: Intellectual Output 4). Am Anfang des Projekts, in der Vorbereitung auf die Lernaktivitäten, war eine Sprachenmatrix aller Schülerinnen und Schüler erstellt worden. Es waren in dieser Matrix Angaben zur Muttersprache und Fremdsprachen gemacht worden. Die Sprachenbiographie als meditative Übungen zum Sprachenbewusstsein brachte Sprachen zum Vorschein, die zuvor in der Sprachenmatrix nicht erfasst werden konnten, da diese von den Schülerinnen und Schülern nicht angegeben worden waren: Hazaragi, ein Dialekt des Persischen, tauchte etwa als Muttersprache gemalt in das Herzen einer Schülerin auf. Die Schülerin hatte diese Sprache vorher nicht angegeben, da es keine offizielle Sprache ist. Die Schülerinnen und Schüler aus Afghanistan und Syrien mit Fluchthintergrund gingen die Aufgabe zunächst zögerlich an. Es stellte sich heraus, dass sie es nicht gewohnt waren über ihre Sprachen zu sprechen.

Im Nachklang der Übung äußerten sich die Schülerinnen und Schüler mit Fluchthintergrund sehr positiv über diese Übung, da sie „sich“ in diesem internationalen Kontext als normal empfanden. Sie empfanden die Übung nicht als ein eigenes Programm für Flüchtlinge, bei dem sie eine Sonderstellung erhalten, sondern – da alle diese Übung machten – als organischen Teil der Gemeinschaft im Projekt. Dies ist auch Ziel von CultureShake: die Normalität der Hybridisierung von Kultur aufzeigen und für dieses Zusammenleben Materialien und Visionen entwickeln, damit auch jenseits von CultureShake im Schulalltag eine Gemeinsamkeit der Kulturen und Sprachen Normalität werden kann.  Persisch war einerseits die Muttersprache eines Flüchtlingskindes und andererseits die Muttersprache eines „ganz normalen“ integrierten Schülers am ESG in Schweden. Die Sprachenbiographien deckten auch die vielen Sprachen der Schülerinnen und Schüler am FWG auf. So konnte ein Stück mehr Normalität für die Flüchtlingskinder und ein Stück mehr Internationalität für die stärker lokal verorteten Kinder gewonnen werden. Die FWG Bibliothekarin, Frau Banhardt, trug mit Ihrer Unterstützung zu dem Gelingen bei, da sie z.B. die Plakate der Sprachenbiographien verwahrte und uns in den Räumlichkeiten der Bibliothek mit dem wunderbaren Blick auf den Hohentwiel willkommen hieß.

Auf dieses erste gemeinsame Arbeiten in einer Workshop-Atmosphäre folgte ein wissenschaftlicher Einführungsvortrag zu Shakespeare (mehr vgl. Produkte IO 1). Durch die gemeinsamen Vorbereitungen waren die Schülerinnen und Schüler inhaltlich schon vorbereitet und konnten den interaktiven Vortrag mit Ihren Fragen und Kommentaren mitgestalten. Der Vortrag verfolgte das Ziel, eine Einführung in das Leben und Werk Shakespeares zu geben und auf die anschließenden Workshops zur Erstellung von Videos und Peer Teaching Material hinzuführen. Zentral war die Dekonstruktion eines weitverbreiteten Konzepts, dass Shakespeare nur als hehres Kulturgut zu sehen sei und damit nur einer elitären Kulturvermittlung offenstehe.

In dem Vortrag wurde schrittweise mit den Lernenden ein neues Shakespearebild gezeichnet. Anhand der Stadtgeographie Londons wurde z.B. das Theaterleben zu Shakespeares Zeiten verdeutlicht: die Theater – und so auch das Globe – waren von den Puritanern in den Außenbezirk verbannt. Zwischen Pubs und Bordellen musste sich Shakespeare mit seiner Kunst behaupten. Mit dieser Rekonstruktion des Konzepts Shakespeare, von dem elitären unantastbaren Idol zu einem Autor mitten im Leben, waren die transnationalen Schülerteams für die weiteren Aufgaben in der Woche vorbereitet. Mit einer Ausführung zu den Übersetzungen Shakespeares, unter denen sich auch Klingonisch findet, wurde an die Sprachenbiographie im Workshop zuvor angebunden. Aus Titelbildern der anderssprachigen Übersetzungen wurde auf das Werk geschlossen. In der linguistisch diversen Schülerschaft waren die meisten der Übersetzungen leicht zu erschließen. So ergab sich manch amüsante Szene: auf die Frage der Referentin, welches Stück sich wohl hinter dem arabischen Titel verbergen könne, kam die prompte Antwort „Hamlet“. Auf die Nachfrage, wie man darauf kommen könne, war die einfache Antwort „because it says so“.

 

In den Mittagspausen genossen wir die Küche und frische Salatbar der Schulmensa mit den zuvorkommenden Betreibern Familie Ulbrich und den Mitarbeiterinnen Frau Münzer und Frau König. Durch die angenehme Atmosphäre entwickelten sich die Mittagspausen in der Woche schnell zu einer guten Kommunikationsmöglichkeit mit dem Kollegium. Der Austausch mit der Lehrerin der Weltklasse, Frau Brandi-Dohrn, und dem stellvertretenden Schulleiter, Herrn Spitzhüttl, waren gewinnbringend für das Projekt.

Den Nachmittag des ersten Tages verbrachten die Schülerinnen und Schüler aus Schweden in den Gastfamilien, um Ihre Partner im Team besser kennenzulernen und sich in Singen und Umgebung nach der anstrengenden Reise zu akklimatisieren.

Das Projektteam nutzte den Nachmittag für ein zusätzliches transnationales Projektmeeting (mehr vgl. Transnationale Meetings M1a).

 

Dienstag, der 09.05.2017

Wie kann die Stadt Singen als gelebter Raum für die Besucher jenseits einer gängigen Stadtführung erfahrbar gemacht werden? Mit dem Geocache „Fairies Singen“ (mehr vgl. Produkte IO 4) wurden die Orte in Singen erkundet, welche eine Bedeutung für die Schülergruppe des FWGs hat. Diese Orte wurden im Vorfeld gesammelt und ein Geocache konzipiert, mit dem sowohl die Gastgeber als auch die Besucher Singen (neu) kennenlernen konnten. Als „Schatz“ fanden Titanias Elfen Peaseblossom, Cobweb, Moth, Mustardseed und Puck den Elfen-Gesang aus Shakespeares Sommernachtstraum. Der Geocache wird zukünftig für weitere Austauschgruppen aus Australien, Frankreich und Italien eingesetzt.

Waren dies bisher Workshops und Aktivitäten, die von den Projektpartnern für die Lernenden konzipiert waren, übernahmen die transnationalen Schülerteams für den Rest des Tages die Regie, indem sie sich Fragestellungen für Peer Teaching Materialien überlegten und diese ausarbeiteten. Der Workshop wurde anmoderiert, um Inklusion und Mehrsprachigkeit als Weg zum Aufbau von Literacy gemäß der Prioritäten des Projekts als Grundlage für das Peer Teaching Material nochmals in Erinnerung zu rufen und festzusetzen (mehr vgl. Produkte IO 3).

Der Tag, der mit „Fairies Singen“ begonnen hatte, fand seinen Abschluss am Abend bei der Orchesterprobe des Instrumentalverein Rielasingen e.V. mit Mendelssohn – Bartholdys „Ein Sommernachtstraum“. Schülerinnen aus CultureShake, die auch in dem Orchester mitspielen, hatten zu der Probe eingeladen.

 

Mittwoch, der 10.05.2017

Im Ratssaal des Singener Rathauses empfing uns Bürgermeisterin Seyfried. Sie begrüßte das europäische Projekt CultureShake in der Vierländerregion vor dem Wandbild „Krieg und Frieden“, das Otto Dix für das Rathaus in Singen 1960 erschaffen hatte. Eine Vertreterin der lokalen und regionalen Zeitung „Südkurier“ war ebenfalls anwesend.

Nachdem an den Vortagen die Sprachenvielfalt in den transnationalen Teams und die innere Mehrsprachigkeit erkennbar und erfahrbar gemacht worden war, sollte mit einer „Local Culture“ Übung in Anlehnung an Mark Waglers Ansatz ein Denken außerhalb von Kulturcontainern (Terry Eagleton) angestoßen werden. Durch die thematische Orientierung des Treffens war nicht „die schwedische“ und „die deutsche“ Kultur und Sprache Thema, sondern es ging um Zusammenarbeiten an einem Sachthema in Sprachenvielfalt. Bei der Local Culture Übung sollen nicht Nationalsymbole, wie z.B. eine Flagge, Monument oder Feiertage kennengelernt werden, sondern es geht um die individuelle Kultur einer Person und ihrer Umgebung. So wurden Symbole für die eigene Kultur gezeichnet. Es zeigte sich, dass Symbole aus z.B. Sport, Musik und Familie grenzüberschreitend sind und sich in Deutschland, Schweden, Afghanistan oder Syrien finden (mehr vgl. Produkte IO 4).

Der anschließende Workshop „CUSHA Online Dictionary“ fokussiert auf digitale und linguistische Kompetenzen. Durch die miteinander verbundenen und sich gegenseitig ergänzenden Aktivitäten zu Mehrsprachigkeit, Transkulturalität und Shakespeares Werk hat die Wörterbucharbeit eine Sinnhaftigkeit: Es geht nämlich nicht um ein Üben der Nutzung wie z.B. des Nachschlagens von Begriffen, sondern um die Erstellung eines individuellen Wörterbuch zu der Thematik des Projekts. Auf der Online Platform Termania erstellen die transnationalen Teams ihr mehrsprachiges Shakespeare Wörterbuch. Der erste gemeinsame Workshop fokussierte auf Einträge aus dem Sommernachtstraum. Im Laufe des Projekts wird das Wörterbuch erweitert durch Einträge aus Shakespeares Sturm. Außerdem werden Piktogramme und Audiofiles eingefügt, da Kinder mit Fluchthintergrund nicht immer die Möglichkeit hatten eine Schule zu besuchen. Es soll gezeigt werden, wie dennoch durch einen inklusiven Ansatz zusammen gelernt werden kann. So können andere Sprecher die Einträge machen und der Inhalt kann auch ohne eine Alphabetisierung erschlossen werden und so linguistische Kompetenz langsam aufgebaut werden. Die Teams arbeiteten mit einer gekürzten Fassung der Originalversion. Frühneuenglisch, die Sprache Shakespeares, ist somit für alle eine neue und andere Sprache, die zusammen erschlossen werden muss. Für das Online Wörterbuch wählten Schülerinnen und Schüler ihre Wörter aus, die sie eintragen möchten. Daraufhin suchen sie Sprecher der anderen Sprachen, da dieses Wort in alle Sprachen der Projektteilnehmenden übersetzt wird. Damit war der „Sprachenbazar“ eröffnet „I need someone with Swedish. Where is a person who speaks Persian? Who can help me with…“. Diese Übung unterstützt auf der kognitiven Ebene den Konzeptaufbau (vgl. Cummins und Butzkamm), indem die fremdsprachlichen anhand der muttersprachlichen Konzepte reflektiert werden (mehr vgl. Produkte IO 2).

Der anschließende Filmabend wurde von einer Schülergruppe organisiert. Die Auswahl fiel auf die Michael Hoffman Verfilmung des Sommernachtstraums. Schüler des FWGs führten in den Film ein und ließen den Abend mit Gesprächen über den Film ausklingen.

 

Donnerstag, der 11.05.2017

Dieser Tag stand ganz im Zeichen von Videos and Acting: nach einer Warm-up Activity im Freien wurden Szenen für den Videodreh am Nachmittag vorbereitet (mehr vgl. Produkte IO 3). Die Experten unterstützten in Plenums- und Einzeldiskussionen die transnationalen Schülerteams mit der Vorbereitung.

Am Nachmittag suchten die Teams im Umfeld des FWGs eine geeigneten Ort für den Dreh. Die nahgelegene Insel Wehrd, der Münchried-Wald und der Blick auf den Hohentwiel boten vielfältige Möglichkeiten. Im Plenum berichteten die unterschiedlichen Teams von den Videoaufnahmen und tauschten sich aus. Die Videos werden im Anschluss von Schülerinnen und Schülern des ESG geschnitten und editiert (mehr vgl. Produkte IO 3)

Den Abend gestalteten die Gastfamilien individuell.

 

Freitag, der 12.05.2017

Eingeweihten ist die Mainau nicht nur als Blumeninsel, sondern auch als „Shakespeare-Island“ bekannt. Alljährlich finden hier Aufführungen der American Drama Group Europe statt. Bei dem Empfang von Gräfin Bernadotte war Schweden durch die Verbindungen der Adelsfamilie präsent am Bodensee und es wurde ein wenig auf Schwedisch parliert.

Nach der Erkundung der Insel setzen wir mit einer Fähre über nach Konstanz. Die Bodenseekulisse mit dem Alpenpanorama begleitete uns.

Nicht nur bei dem „Walk around Town“ in Konstanz waren an diesem Tag die CultureShake Beutel gut zu gebrauchen.

Den Abschluss dieser arbeitsintensiven Woche feierten wir zusammen in einer Gaststätte am Bodensee. Die Kulisse verfinsterte sich und ein Sommergewitter entlud sich über dem See. Treffend bemerkte ein Schüler „dies ist das Szenario für Shakespeares Sturm“ – eine gelungene Überleitung zu unserer nächsten Reise, die uns nach Stratford führt …