The Shakespeare Birthplace Trust, Stratford-upon-Avon (UK)

The Shakespeare Birthplace Trust is the independent charity that cares for the world’s greatest Shakespeare heritage sites in Stratford-upon-Avon, and promotes the enjoyment and understanding of his works, life and times all over the world

Our History

The Shakespeare Birthplace Trust was formed in 1847 following the purchase of Shakespeare’s Birthplace as a national memorial. The Trust now cares for the world’s greatest Shakespeare heritage sites – the five beautifully preserved homes and gardens directly linked to Shakespeare and his family in Stratford-upon-Avon.

Together, Shakespeare’s family homes form an iconic destination in the UK which has been attracting visitors from around the globe for centuries. Today, a tour of these houses takes you on a natural journey through Shakespeare’s life from his birth at the house on Henley Street, to his mature family home and eventual death at Shakespeare’s New Place.

More about Shakespeare’s family homes

World class collections

At the heart of all things ‘Shakespeare’, the Trust holds the world’s largest Shakespeare-related library, museum and archives open to the public, with over 1 million documents, 55,000 books and 12,000 museum objects. We also care for the Royal Shakespeare Company’s archive of theatre records, as well as an extensive local history archive of Stratford-upon-Avon and South Warwickshire, with records dating back to the twelfth century.

Our collections have been Designated as being of international importance. They are accessible to the public in our historic homes, via our online catalogue or by visiting the Reading Room at the Shakespeare Centre here in Stratford-upon-Avon.

More about our collections

Learning for all

The Trust runs a world-class, award winning programme of formal and informal educational programmes and literary lectures, to encourage the appreciation and study of Shakespeare’s works, and the advancement of Shakespearian knowledge on an international scale. The Shakespeare Birthplace Trust is also headquarters of the International Shakespeare Association, providing an opportunity for individuals and institutions to join together to further the knowledge of Shakespeare throughout the world.

More about learning at SBT

Research activity

We have members of staff who are research active and contribute to conferences and events around the world. We continue to produce new publications and to engage in academic debate around Shakespeare’s works, life and times. The Shakespeare Birthplace Trust is also the headquarters of the International Shakespeare Association and plays an active role in the World Shakespeare Congress.

More about research at the Trust

 

Find out more about who we are and what we do to share Shakespeare with the world in this short video:

 

CUSHA at the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust

The Stratford side of the Culture Shake project is managed by the Learning and Participation team at the Trust. Lisa Peter, who is the International Lecturer in Shakespeare Studies and the expert on teaching Shakespeare to language learners form all over the world, is the Stratford project lead and responsible for the method guide Shakespeare in the 21st-Century Classroom and the workshop phase in Stratford in September 2017.

In her teaching at the Trust, Lisa particularly looks after international groups whose first language is any other than English, and she specialises in Shakespeare translations and the Shakespeare reception around the world. She launched a new range of educational sessions for language learners at the Trust and for the Shakespeare anniversary year 2016 she co-developed the Massive Open Online Course Exploring English: Shakespeare together with the British Council. In addition, Lisa contributed to the BBC Learning English series Shakespeare Speaks and she has written study guides for Digital Theatre Plus. Lisa offers teacher training sessions for language teachers at the Trust and she regularly speaks at international conferences on the topic of teaching Shakespeare to language learners.


News

The lecture "CultureShake: Digital Learning in Multilingual Education" will be presented at the OEB conference (27 to 29 November 2019) in Berlin, Germany.

CultureShake will be presented at the conference "Europeana 2019 - Connect Communities" (27 to 29 November 2019) in Lisbon, Portugal.

Site Overview

Der Shakespeare Birthplace Trust in Stratford-upon-Avon (Vereinigtes Königreich)

Der Shakespeare Birthplace Trust ist die unabhängige Stiftung, die sich um das Kulturerbe Shakespeares in Stratford-upon-Avon, William Shakespeare’s Geburtsstadt, kümmert. Der Trust hat es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, das Vergnügen an und das Verständnis von Shakespeares Werken, Leben und Epoche in aller Welt zu fördern.

Unsere Geschichte

Der Shakespeare Birthplace Trust wurde 1847 gegründet, nach dem Erwerb von Shakespeares Geburtshaus als nationalem Denkmal. Der Trust kümmert sich nun um die wichtigsten Kulturerbestätten im Zusammenhang mit Shakespeare – die fünf wundervoll erhaltenen Häuser und Gärten, die direkt mit Shakespeare und seiner Familie in Stratford-upon-Avon in Verbindung stehen.

Alle Shakespearehäuser zusammen sind eine einzigartiges Reiseziel im Vereinigten Koenigreich, welches bereits seit Jahrhunderten Besucher aus aller Welt anzieht. Ein Rundgang durch alle Häuser nimmt Sie mit auf eine Reise durch Shakespeares Leben, von seiner Geburt in dem Haus in der Henley Street bis zu seinem späteren Familienhaus und Ort seines Todes in Shakespeare’s New Place.

Mehr über die Shakespearehäuser

Sammlung von Weltklasse

Im Herzen aller Shakespeare-‚Dinge‘ liegt die weltgrößte Shakespeare-Bibliothek, Museumssammlung und Archiv, die der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich sind. Diese umfassen mehr als 1 Million Dokumente, 55 000 Bücher und 12 000 Museumsobjekte. Wir kümmern uns auch um das Theaterarchiv der Royal Shakespeare Company, ebenso wie um ein umfassendes Lokalarchiv von Stratford-upon-Avon und Südwarwickshire, das bis ins zwölfte Jahrhundert zurückreicht.

Unsere Sammlungen sind als Sammlungen von internationaler Bedeutung anerkannt. Sie sind der Öffenlichkeit zugänglich in unseren historischen Häusern, über unseren Onlinekatalog oder bei einem Besuch in unserem Lesesaal im Shakespeare Centre hier in Stratford-upon-Avon.

Mehr über unsere Sammlungen

Wissen für alle

Der Trust bietet preisgekrönte Bildungs-Programme und Vortragsreihen an, die die Würdigung und das Studium von Shakespeares Werken fördern, und die das Shakespeare-Wissen weltweit vorantreiben. Der Shakespeare Birthplace Trust ist ebenfalls das Hauptquartier der Internationalen Shakespeare-Gesellschaft, die Enthusiasten und Organisationen die Möglichkeit bietet, sich zum internationalen Wissensaustausch über Shakespeare zu vernetzen.

Mehr zu den Bildungsangeboten am Trust

Forschungstätigkeit

Einige unserer Mitarbeiter betreiben Forschung und tragen zu Konferenzen und anderen Events weltweit bei. Wir publizieren aktiv und engagieren uns in Debatten rund um Shakespeares Werk, Leben und Epoche. Der Shakespeare Birthplace Trust ist darüber hinaus das Hauptquartier der Internationalen Shakespeare-Gesellschaft und spielt eine große Rolle während des Welt Shakespeare Kongresses, der in der Regel alle fünf Jahre stattfindet.

Mehr zu Forschung am Trust

Wenn Sie mehr darüber herausfinden möchten, wer wir sind und was wir tun, um Shakespeare mit der Welt zu teilen, diese kurze Video bietet Ihnen einen guten Überblick (auf Englisch):

CUSHA am Shakespeare Birthplace Trust

Der Stratford-Teil des Culture Shake Projekts wird vom Learning and Participation Team am Trust durchgeführt. Lisa Peter, Internationale Dozentin für Shakespearestudien und Expertin für Shakespeare im Fremdsprachenunterricht, ist die Projektleiterin in Stratford und federführend verantwortlich für das Methodenhandbuch Shakespeare in the 21st-Century Classroom sowie für die Workshop-Woche in Stratford im September 2017.

In ihrer Tätigkeit am Trust kümmert sich Lisa besonders um internationale Besucher, für die Englisch eine Fremdsprache ist, und sie spezialisiert sich auf Shakespeare-Übersetzungen und die Shakespeare-Rezeption in aller Welt. Sie hat eine Reihe neuer Lern-Workshops für Sprachlerner am Trust eingeführt und hat für das Jubiläumsjahr 2016 zusammen mit dem British Council den Massive Open Online Course Exploring English: Shakespeare  entwickelt. Darüber hinaus hat Lisa zu der BBC Learning English Serie Shakespeare Speaks beigetragen und sie schreibt Studienhilfen für Digital Theatre Plus. Lisa bietet am Trust Lehrerfortbildung für Sprachlehrer an und spricht regelmäßig auf internationalen Konferenzen zum Thema Shakespeare im Fremdsprachenunterricht.


Neuigkeiten

  • Vortrag "Revitalization of Italian language" bei der Clarc conference in Rijeka, Kroatien, vom 8.-10.Juni 2018.
  • Poster "CultureShake: A Multilingual and Transcultural Research and Learning Project" von Dr. Annette Deschner auf der Edulearn18 Konferenz in Palma de Mallorca, Spanien.
  • Das ESG wird 60 Jahre alt. Es wurde 1958 gegründet und hatte damals 5 englische und 2 argentinische SchülerInnen - heute sind es mehr als 500 mit mehr als 40 Nationalitäten. Die Geburtstagsfeier findet im Herbst statt.