Stratford-upon-Avon, 24/09-29/09/2017

The second CultureShake learning activity at the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust in Stratford took place from the 25/09/2017 to the 29/09/2017.

Aim

The aim of this learning activity was to continue working on the project’s products at authentic locations in Stratford such as Shakespeare’s house of birth or the archives containing his collected works. The participants worked together with academic experts, actors and a theatre pedagogue on their research questions. These were previously established in the preparation phase. Whereas A Midsummer Night’s Dream was the focus of learning activity C1, which took place in Singen, learning activity C2 concentrated on Shakespeare’s The Tempest. Flight, exile and life in a strange country were the central topics of this piece.

Project objectives within the learning activity

  • bridging theory and practise in the area of culture-sensitive teaching
  • developing and fostering digital competences
  • promoting language competences
  • promoting multilingualism
  • developing a European dimension in education through a focussing on multilingualism
  • transnational and trans-disciplinary didactical cooperation
  • supporting mobility for teachers and learners
  • intensifying CultureShake’s newly initiated Erasmus mobility for students of the University of Education Karlsruhe at the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust in Stratford

Content concept

The content concept follows the description of the learning activity C1 in Singen.
The learning activity C2 in Stratford, by using digital learning and teaching forms, supports the fundamental idea that learners who have a background as refugees and take part in the project should not be seen as an exception. Refugees without permission to travel were able to take part in the workshops through live streaming. To also not let this appear as a special arrangement, the livestreams were made accessible not just to the refugees taking part in the project, but to the entire school community. Even learners who have moved to other continents with their families can continue working on the project through digital platforms such as eTwinning and Alfresco. As the focus is not on travelling and international exchange but on cooperatively creating products, former participants are still digitally connected to the project and as such, learners with a background as refugees are not excluded or set apart.

Didactics and methodology will work together in a transnational and trans-disciplinary form.
Preparations:
The project partners had already planned the activities of this week two years in advance during the course of the contract initiation. Since the official start of the project on 01/09/2016 the conceptualisation was further specified, assessed and enhanced. Discussions with the workshop leaders and exploration of the extra-curricular learning environment took place during preparations in Stratford within the second transnational project meeting from 10/07 to 12/07/2017.

Participants

Once again, learners of the Stifelsen English School of Gothenburg (ESG) in Sweden and the Friedrich-Wöhler Gymnasium (FWG) took part in the learning activity C2 in Stratford. Dr. Annette Deschner (University of Education, Karlsruhe) and Lisa Peter (lecturer at the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust Stratford, UK) academically supervised and guided the learning activity. Ariane Ros and Anna-Katharina Schmitz, both students of the University of Education in Karlsruhe, executed the video documentation of the learning activity. Lisa Peter meticulously planned the extensive organisation on site at the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust so that all participants felt at ease and were able to take part in an exchange in an authentic learning environment.

 

The following activities took place during the week.

Monday, 25 September 2017

In Henly Street at the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust Lisa Peter welcomed us in the Queen Elisabeth Hall and prepare us for the week to come. Lisa Peter and her team at the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust led the activities during the week at a very high level in terms of organisation and content. Lisa Peter’s interactive presentation on Shakespeare’s The Tempest introduced the topic of the learning activity in Stratford.

Afterwards, we explored the Shakespeare birth house and the day-to-day living conditions of Shakespeare and the people living in Elizabethan times. Here you will get a little impression of what it was like:

“A horse, a horse, a kingdom for a horse”: in the afternoon Sarah Horner’s workshop on language and verse looked at examples from Shakespeare’s works. The goal hereby was to enhance the understanding of the text even without prior lingual knowledge. The learners should realise that the message of the text can (and must) be understood without knowing English, giving it life not merely by reciting it, but sending the message more through articulation and the connecting the text with the body. This concept follows multilingual didactics and can be implemented by the learners throughout the project as a method to create peer lesson materials.

During the reading of the short version of Shakespeare’s The Tempest, characters of the play were briefly acted out by individuals using the storytelling method of Richard Martin. After this first encounter with the text the learners lay down on the floor and let themselves become inspired by music, which would help them think about how the first scene of the play can be physically depicted.

 

Tuesday, 26 September 2017

The morning began with a methodically prepared presentation by Lisa Peter about Shakespeare’s theatre architecture. The learners were able to slip into the roles of different actors in a game.

Following this, Sarah Horner’s workshop entitled “The Tempest – Exile and drama expressions“ guided the learners to the central topic of the project “home”: the learners should imagine themselves forced to leave their home. With the help of an intense chain of questions, Sarah Horner delved ever deeper into an emotional realm:
Why were we banished? How does this feel? Can one return to home? Imagine your home. Why were you forced to leave? How would you return? Imagine being in a strange country. What do you feel?
Influenced by these questions, the learners should each choose one name of a character in the play for e.g. Prospero, Miranda, Trinculo, who they would like to portray and execute a motion for. Learners grouped the characters after their status and power. Different opinions on this were discussed. Through this means of deliberating, the learners grew more accustomed to the topics and mechanisms of flight and exile.

During the tour of the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust archives, Madeleine Cox brought the characters of the pieces between the pages to life. Like the project team during the preparatory meeting, the hidden treasures from around the world equally astonished the learners who toured the archives. The material worth of books surprised many and shed a new light on the novelty of a first edition.

As only small groups were allowed into the archives, this phase was conducted in parts. The reading room was used to look up terms in the CUSHA online dictionary and revise the different editions in the individual languages of origin as well as the mother tongues. These were brought in to the reading room by employees of the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust.

Afterwards the learners should dive into the world of Prospero with the help of the surrounding books and solve the Mystery Geocaches. The groups of fairies of the Geocache “Fairies Singen” from the first learning activity were kept to make the connection clear. The solutions could be found with the help of the multilingual edition of The Tempest in the reading room.

 

Wednesday, 27 September 2017

The learners implement the methods from the workshops they visited the previous days on to the peer lesson materials.

In the fourth act of The Tempest Prospero delights the lovers Miranda and Ferdinand with a game of masks. Roxanne Bennis introduced the learners to the world of Renaissance dance. Not only did she teach them the steps to the dance, but she also relayed many interesting facts. For instance, that dance during Shakespeare’s time was seen as a sport. Elizabeth I was said to have danced three galliards before breakfast every day.

In the afternoon Anjna Chouhan prepared the group for Coriolanus, an evening piece of the Royal Shakespeare Company.

Lyn Darnley worked with the learners on voice building in the “Voice Class” workshop and combined her exercises with multilingual didactics.

As a successful man of the theatre in London, Shakespeare had become prosperous and was able to erect an impressive manor not far from his birth house. New Place was re-designed by the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust. The manor is not used as a conventional museum for the public, instead it depicts Shakespeare’s life and work through the arts.

After visiting New Place the evening began with Coriolanus.

 

Thursday, 28 September 2017

Anjna Chouhan discussed the long theatre evening full of intrigue and power games while revising the piece with the learners.
Afterwards the entries of the CUSHA online dictionary were further expanded with the use of video data. Objects for visualisation could be found at authentic places.

Sarah Horner prepared the learners to perform key scenes from Shakespeare’s The Tempest in the afternoon before an audience at the birthplace garden stage.

During this time, the project team filmed a video for the next Stakeholder-Webinar. The Webinar should showcase the products and progressions during the second learning activity.
Ariane Rose and Anna-Katharina Schmitz, both students of the University of Education Karlsuhe, documented the learning activity in Stratford.

Actors and actresses of the Trust play upon the round stage in the garden of the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust. A line from Shakespeare’s works can be called out and the scene will be play ad hoc. The visitors of the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust are included in this and are thus able to become for e.g. the bridge between Pyramus and Thisbe.

The stage is used during all kinds of weather, be it rain or wind. The actors and actresses can warm up in the common room, where the tea-ladies provide warm tea. During our week, we were able to reside here during tea breaks. The learners were thus able to have access to and communicate with the actors and actresses.

Sarah Horner upheld the suspense in the group from rehearsals to the performance of the The Tempest on the garden stage. There they stranded, engulfed by ocean waves and recited to people from all over the world their tale of flight and life on strange island.

The Tempest, Shakespeare’s final piece, ended at his grave. The Geocache led here over numerous stations in the life and times of Shakespeare.

 

Friday, 29 September 2017

Shakespeare’s work lives on as colourful as the performance of Much Ado About Nothing at the Globe Theatre in London.

Stratford, 25.-29.09.2017


Am Shakespeare Birthplace Trust in Stratford fand vom 25.09.2017 bis 29.09.2017 die zweite CultureShake Lernaktivität statt.

 

Zielsetzung

Das Ziel dieser Lernaktivität ist an authentischen Orten, wie dem Geburtshaus Shakespeares oder dem Archiv mit den Werken Shakespeares in Stratford, an den Produkten für das Projekt weiterzuarbeiten. In den Workshops setzen sich die Teilnehmenden mit wissenschaftlichen ExpertInnen, SchauspielerInnen und einer Theaterpädagogin über die in der Vorbereitungsphase entwickelten Forschungsfragen auseinander. Stand in der Lernaktivität C1 in Singen der Sommernachtstraum im Zentrum, wurde in der Lernaktivität C2 in Stratford auf Shakespeares Sturm fokussiert. Bei dem Werk wird auf Flucht, Vertreibung und das Leben in der Fremde abgehoben.

 

Projektziele im Rahmen der Lernaktivität

  • Brücke bauen zwischen Theorie und Praxis im Bereich kultursensiblen Unterrichts
  • Aufbau und Ausbau digitaler Kompetenzen
  • Förderung von sprachlicher Kompetenzen
  • Förderung von Mehrsprachigkeit
  • Entwicklung der europäischen Dimension in der Bildung insbesondere durch den Fokus auf Mehrsprachigkeit
  • Transnationale und transdisziplinäre didaktische Zusammenarbeit
  • Unterstützung der Mobilität von Lehrkräften und Schülerinnen und Schüler
  • Intensivierung der durch CultureShake neuangebahnten Erasmusmobilität für Studierende der Pädagogischen Hochschule Karlsruhe am Shakespeare Birthplace Trust in Stratford

Inhaltlicher Ansatz

Der inhaltliche Ansatz entspricht der Darstellung zu der Lernaktivität C1 in Singen.

Der Grundgedanke, dass Schülerinnen und Schüler mit Fluchthintergrund an dem Projekt teilnehmen aber, wie für die Lernaktivität in Singen (C1) dargestellt, keine Besonderheit bilden sollten, konnte bei der Lernaktivität C2 in Stratford durch digitale Lehr- Lernformen unterstützt werden. Geflüchtete ohne Reiseerlaubnis wurde durch Livestreams ermöglicht an den Workshops teilzunehmen. Um auch hier keine Sonderstellung zu inszenieren, waren die Livestreams nicht nur für Geflüchtete im Projekt, sondern für die ganze Schulgemeinschaft zugänglich. Auch Schülerinnen und Schüler, die inzwischen mit ihrer Familie in andere Länder und auf andere Kontinente umgezogen sind, können an Livestreams, aber auch über digitale Plattformen wie eTwinning und Alfresco weiterhin in dem Projekt mitarbeiten. Da der Fokus nicht auf das Reisen und den internationalen Austausch, sondern auf das gemeinsame Erarbeiten von Produkten gelegt wird und wie oben ausgeführt auch ehemalige Teilnehmende weiterhin dem Projekt digital verbunden sind, werden Schülerinnen und Schüler mit Fluchthintergrund nicht herausgestellt.

 

Didaktische Konzepte

Vorbereitung: die Aktivitäten dieser Woche waren bereits zwei Jahre im Voraus im Zuge der Antragsstellung von den Projektpartnern zusammen geplant. Seit Projektstart am 01.09.2016 wurde die Konzeption mit den Teilnehmenden zusammen konkretisiert, geprüft und weiter ausgearbeitet. Bei der Vorbereitung vor Ort in Stratford während des zweiten transnationalen Projektmeetings vom 10.7. bis 12.07.2017 fanden Gespräche mit den Dozenten der Workshops und Erkundungen der vielfältigen außerschulischen Lernorte statt.

 

Teilnehmende

Schülerinnen und Schüler sowie Lehrkräfte der Stifelsen Englisch School of Gothenburg (ESG) in Schweden und des Friedrich-Wöhler Gymnasiums (FWG). Wissenschaftlich betreut wurde die Lernaktivität von Dr. Annette Deschner (Pädagogische Hochschule Karlsruhe), Dr. Mojca Kompara (Primorska Universität Koper in Slowenien) und Lisa Peter (Dozentin am Shakespeare Birthplace Trust Stratford, UK). Die filmische Dokumentation der Lernaktivität wurde von Ariane Ros und Anna-Katharina Schmitz, Studentinnen an der Pädagogischen Hochschule Karlsruhe, durchgeführt. Die aufwendige Vorortorganisation am Shakespeare Bithplace Trust wurde von Lisa Peter minutiös geplant, so dass sich alle Teilnehmenden wohlfühlten und sich in einer authentischen Lernatmosphäre austauschen konnten.

 

In der Woche fanden u.a. folgende Aktivitäten statt.

Montag, der 25.09.2017

Im Shakespeare Birthplace Trust in der Henley Street wurden wir von Lisa Peter in der Queen Elizabeth Hall empfangen und auf die Woche eingestimmt. Lisa Peters interaktiver Vortrag über Shakespeares Sturm führte in die Thematik der Lernaktivität in Stratford ein.

Im Anschluss erkundeten wir im Shakespeare Geburtshaus die Lebenswelt Shakespeares und der Menschen im Elizabethanischen Zeitalter.

“A horse, a horse, a kingdom for a horse”: am Nachmittag folgte Sarah Horners Workshop zu Sprache und Versmaß anhand von Beispielen aus Shakespeares Werk. Die Zielsetzung hierbei war die Verständlichkeit von Text auch ohne Sprachkenntnis. Die Schülerinnen und Schüler sollten erfahren, das die Aussage des Textes auch ohne Englischkenntnis verständlich werden können und müssen, indem der Text mit Leben gefüllt wird dadurch, dass dieser nicht einfach rezitiert, sondern durch Artikulation und die Verbindung mit dem Körper eine Aussage erhält. Dieser Ansatz entspricht der Mehrsprachigkeitsdidaktik und kann von den Schülerinnen und Schülern im weiteren Verlauf des Projekts als Methode auf die Erarbeitung der Peer Unterrichtsmaterialien angewendet werden.

Einen kleinen Eindruck bekommen Sie hier:

Bei dem gemeinsamen Lesen der Kurzfassung von Shakespeares Der Sturm werden wie bei der Storytelling Methode nach Richard Martin Charaktere aus dem Stück durch eine kurze mimische und gestische Darstellung einer Person inszeniert.  Nach dieser ersten Begegnung mit dem Text legen sich die Schülerinnen und Schüler auf den Boden und lassen sich durch Musik inspirieren beim Nachdenken darüber, wie die erste Szene des Stücks physisch dargestellt werden kann.

Nach den Workshopeinheiten wurde von den Kooperationspartnern ein Projektmeeting zu anstehenden Themen abgehalten.

 

Dienstag, der 26.9.2017

Den Morgen eröffnete Lisa Peter mit eine methodisch aufbereiteten Vortrag zu Shakespeare´s Theaterarchitektur. Die Schülerinnen und Schüler konnten sich in einem Planspiel in die Rollen unterschiedlicher bei dem Bau eines Theaters beteiligten Akteure schlüpfen und überlegen, welche Rolle welche bauliche Umsetzung für das Theater beansprucht.

In dem anschließen Workshop “The Tempest – Exile and drame expressions“ leitete Sarah Horner zu dem zentralen Thema des Projekts „home“ über: Schülerinnen und Schüler sollten sich vorstellen gezwungen zu sein ihr Heim/ ihre Heimat zu verlassen und zwar sei dies keine Wahlmöglichkeit, sondern es geht darum sich vorzustellen, dass man dazu gezwungen wird. Mit einer intensiven Fragekette führt Sarah Horner immer weiter in die Gefühlswelt ein:

Warum wurde man vertrieben? Wie fühlt sich das an? Kann man nach Hause zurück gelangen? Stellt euch Euer zuhause vor. Warum wurdet ihr gezwungen dieses zu verlassen? Wie kommt ihr wieder zurück? Stellt Euch vor, Ihr seid in der Fremde. Was fühlt Ihr?

Unter dem Eindruck dieser Fragen, sollen die Schülerinnen und Schüler jeweils den Namen des Charakters aus dem Stück nennen, den Sie verkörpern und dazu eine Bewegung ausführen. Über den Aushandlungsprozess, wer der mächtigste Charakter im Stück sei und die Charaktere der Reihe nach aufzustellen und dies zu begründen werden die Schülerinnen und Schüler im Verständnis des Stücks und der Thematik und Flucht und Vertreibung und den Mechanismen weitergeführt.

Auf der Tour durch das Archiv des Shakespeare Birthplace Trust erweckt Madeleine Cox dich Bücher und ihre Charaktere zwischen den Seiten zum Leben. Wie das Projektteam bei dem vorbereitenden Projektmeeting so staunen auch die Schülerinnen und Schüler über die Schätze aus aller Welt, wobei auch der materielle Wert von Büchern überrascht und eine Erstausgabe in neuem Licht erscheinen lässt.

Da sich in dem Archiv nur eine kleine Gruppe aufhalten konnte, wurde diese Phase arbeitsteilig gestaltet. In dem Leseraum konnten Begriffe für das CUSHA Onlinewörterbuch in den Ausgaben der unterschiedlichen Mutter- bzw. Herkunftssprachen nachgeschlagen werden. Die Bücher waren zuvor aus dem Archiv von den Mitarbeiterinnen des Shakespeare Birthplace Trusts in den Leseraum gebracht worden.

Anschließend sollten die Schülerinnen und Schüler im Leseraum von Büchern umgeben in die Welt Prosperos eintauchen und das Rätsel des Mystery Geocaches lösen. Dazu wurden die Gruppen der Elfen aus dem Geocache „Fairies Singen“ aus der ersten Lernaktivität beibehalten, um die Verbindung zu verdeutlichen. Die Lösungen konnten mit Hilfe der mehrsprachigen Ausgaben von Der Sturm im Leseraum gefunden werden.

Auch zum Abschluss dieses Tages setzte sich das Projektteam zusammen, um Themen des Projektmanagements zu bearbeiten.

 

Mittwoch, der 27.09.2017

Die Methoden aus den Workshops der Vortage werden auf die Peer Unterrichtsmaterialien von den Schülerinnen und Schülern angewandt.

Im vierten Akt von Der Sturm erfreut Prospero das Liebespaar Miranda und Ferdinand mit einem Maskenspiel. Roxanne Bennis führt in die Welt des Renaissance Tanzes ein, der zu Zeiten Shakespeares als Sport angesehen wurde. So soll Elisabeth I. vor dem Frühstück schon drei Galliarden getanzt haben. Mit vielen Fakten über den Renaissance Tanz angereicht, vermittelt Roxanne Bennis die Tanzschritte.

Am Nachmittag bereitet Anjna Chouhan die Gruppe auf Coriolanus die Abendvorstellung der Royal Shakespeare Company vor.

In dem “Voice Class” Workshop arbeitet Lyn Darnley mit den Schülerinnen und Schülern an der Stimmbildung und verbindet dies mit Übungen der Mehrsprachigkeitsdidaktik.

Als erfolgreicher Theatermacher in London zu Ruhm und Geld gekommen, errichtete Shakespeare für sich und seine Familie ein herrschaftliches Haus unweit seines Geburtshauses. New Place wurde von dem Shakespeare Birthplace Trust neu entdeckt. Das Anwesen wird nicht als restauriertes Haus der Tudor Zeit museal dem Publikum zugänglich gemacht, sondern durch Kunst werden die Stücke und Sonette Shakespeares in seinem Leben erzählt.

Nach dem Besuch von New Place fängt der Abend mit Coriolanus an.

 

Donnerstag, der 28.09.2017

Den langen Theaterabend voller Intrigen und Machtspiele diskutiert Anjna Choudhan mit den Schülerinnen und Schülern in der Nachbereitungsphase des Stückes.

Im Anschluss wurden die Einträge des CUSHA Onlinewörterbuchs um Videodateien erweitert. An den authentischen Orten konnten Objekte für die Visualisierung gefunden werden.

Sarah Horner bereitet die Schülerinnen und Schüler darauf vor Schlüsselszenen aus Shakespeares Sturm am Nachmittag vor Publikum auf der Birthplace Gartenbühne zu performen.

Währenddessen dreht das Projektteam ein Video für das nächste Stakeholderwebinar. Das Webinar soll die Produkte und Fortschritte im Projekt während der zweiten Lernaktivität darstellen.

Ariane Ros und Anna-Katharina Schmitz, Studentinnen an der Pädagogischen Hochschule Karlsruhe, dokumentierten die Lernaktivitätswoche in Stratford.

Die runde Bühne im Garten des Shakespeare Birthplace Trusts wird von Schauspielerinnen und Schauspielern des Trust bespielt. Es kann eine Zeile aus Shakespeares Werken zugerufen werden und die Szene wird ad hoc aufgeführt. Dabei werden auch umstehende Besucherinnen und Besucher des Birthplace Trusts miteinbezogen und dürfen so z.B. die Mauer zwischen Pyramus und Thisbe darstellen.

Die Bühne wird bei Wind und Wetter bespielt. Aufwärmen können sich die Schauspielerinnen und Schauspieler im Aufenthaltsraum, wo die Tea-Ladies für warmen Tee sorgen. In unserer Woche am Shakespeare Birthplace Trust konnten wir uns in den Teepausen dort austauschen. Die Schülerinnen und Schüler bekamen so einen Zugang zu den Schauspielerinnen und Schauspielern.

Sarah Horner hält die Spannung in der Gruppe von dem Proberaum bis zur Bühne im Garten. Dort stranden sie von Meereswellen umspült und erzählen Menschen aus der ganzen Welt ihre Geschichte der Flucht und dem Leben auf der fremden Insel.

Der Sturm, das letzte Werk Shakespeares, endet an Shakespeares Grab. Dorthin führt der Geocache über mehrere Stationen im Leben und Werk Shakespeares.

 

Freitag, der 29.09.2017

Das Werk Shakespeare lebt bunt wie in der Inszenierung von Much Ado About Nothing am Globe Theatre in London.


Neuigkeiten

  • Vortrag "Revitalization of Italian language" bei der Clarc conference in Rijeka, Kroatien, vom 8.-10.Juni 2018.
  • Poster "CultureShake: A Multilingual and Transcultural Research and Learning Project" von Dr. Annette Deschner auf der Edulearn18 Konferenz in Palma de Mallorca, Spanien.
  • Das ESG wird 60 Jahre alt. Es wurde 1958 gegründet und hatte damals 5 englische und 2 argentinische SchülerInnen - heute sind es mehr als 500 mit mehr als 40 Nationalitäten. Die Geburtstagsfeier findet im Herbst statt.